BHS Soccer v. CMR

Bozeman’s Ted Scott gets past Great Falls CMR’s Blake Sowers for a shot during a game on Sept. 14.

Bozeman’s Ted Scott has been named the 2018-19 Gatorade Montana boys soccer player of the year, the company announced Thursday. Scott is the third winner of the award from Bozeman.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Scott as Montana’s best high school boys soccer player.

The 6-foot-3, 165-pound senior midfielder led the Hawks to a 15-0 record and the Class AA state championship this past season. Scott tallied 13 goals and 16 assists and supported a defense that allowed just four goals all season. The Eastern AA Player of the Year, Scott was a two-time first team All-State selection.

Scott has a summer job on a ranch where he helps prepare events for Eagle Mount, a charitable organization that provides fishing opportunities for handicapped adults. He has also volunteered locally as an elementary school mentor and as a youth soccer coach.

“The word that would best describe Ted is crafty,” Bozeman head coach Hunter Terry said. “His first touch is pristine and his ability to keep or prep difficult balls played into him is one of his strong suits. He is a fantastic passer.”

Scott has maintained a 3.32 GPA in the classroom and signed a National Letter of Intent to play soccer at Westminster College in Utah this fall.

Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade national boys soccer player of the year award to be announced in June, Scott joins an elite alumni association of past state soccer award-winners, including Alexi Lalas (1987-88, Cranbrook High School, Michigan), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy School of Young Women, New York) and Matt Besler (2004-04, Blue Valley West High School, Kansas).

Scott joins recent Gatorade Montana boys soccer players of the year Matt Baldridge (2016-17 and 2017-18, Missoula Hellgate), Peter Byrne (2015-16, Hellgate), Ben Hietala (2014-15, Bozeman) and Alec Marshall (2013-14, Bozeman) among the state’s list of former award winners.

As a part of Gatorade’s cause marketing platform “Play it Forward,” Scott also has the opportunity to award a $1,000 grant to a local or national youth sports organization of his choosing.