Cat Griz

Gunnar Brekke was among six Bobcats football players to receive a scholastic honor Wednesday.

Support Local Journalism


Led by Academic All-American Mitch Herbert, five Bobcats earned induction into the National Football Foundation’s Hampshire Honor Society on Wednesday.

To be eligible, players must complete their playing eligibility in 2017, maintain a 3.2 grade-point average and meet progress-toward-degree requirements.

The four joining Herbert (a receiver from Eugene, Oregon) as Hampshire Society honorees are running back Gunnar Brekke from Helena, safety Ben Folsom from Jackson, offensive tackle Dylan Mahoney from Great Falls and safety Bryson McCabe from Spirit Lake, Iowa.

This year a record 1,251 players from 302 schools qualified for membership across all classifications of four-year schools. This society is in its 12th year.

Support Local Journalism

To see what else is happening in Gallatin County subscribe to the online paper.