Support Local Journalism


The Big Sky on Wednesday announced the members of the 2018 Winter All-Academic teams for men’s and women’s basketball and indoor track & field. In all, 48 Montana State student-athletes garnered recognition.

The winter season was competitive athletically as well as in the classroom. The league had a total of 494 recognized, the second-most in history. It was the fourth straight year with 400 or more honorees. There were 328 who registered a cumulative grade point-average of 3.5 or higher, while 53 recorded 4.0s.

“I’d like to congratulate our basketball and track & field student-athletes for their dedication to academic success,” Big Sky Commissioner Andrea Williams said. “Our student-athletes have continued to demonstrate hard work and commitment in their respective sport, as well as in the classroom. They are competing at a high level nationally, while performing well academically.”

To be eligible, one must have met and/or exceeded the following minimum requirements: 1). Participated in at least half of the team’s competitions; 2). Achieved a 3.2 GPA at the conclusion of the most recently completed term; 3). Completed at least one academic term at his/her current institution.

Montana State All-Academic Honorees:

Men’s Basketball

Harald Frey

Konner Frey

Women’s Basketball

Rebekah Hatchard

Delany Junkermier

Tori Martell

Madisyn Shaide

Madeline Smith

Ashley Van Sickle

Men’s Indoor Track and Field

Chris Bianchini

Sam Bloom

Brock Butcher

Cameron Carroll

Riley Collins

Brandon Hough

Christopher Lange

Noah Martin

Luke Middelstadt

Alec Nehring

Calvin Root

Jared Schwend

Bill Yeager

Women’s Track and Field

Ellen Brooks

Trisha Carlson

Anna French

Caroline Hardin

Alex Hellenberg

Morgan Jones

Samantha Kelderman

Aubrey Kessel

Elisabeth Krieger

Lexi Kyro

Kendra Larson

Madison Liechty

Annalise Lont

Molly McDonald

Rachael McGree

Layne Oliver

Kaylee Oyler

Brookelyn Palin

Hailey Phillips

Amber Prevedello

Megan Ralstin

McKenna Ramsay

Adeline Richardson

Truanne Roginske

Joby Rosenleaf

Carter Theade

Sierra Tucker

Support Local Journalism

To see what else is happening in Gallatin County subscribe to the online paper.