Bozeman High School's Hawkers speech and debate team won the Billings Olympiad tournament on Saturday in what head coach Adam Thane called “a squeaker.”

Preliminary results showed that Glacier High School had won, but when point totals were double-checked, it was discovered that 4 points that should have gone to Bozeman had been mistakenly credited to Helena High, Thane said.

When totals were corrected, Bozeman won with 154 points, while Glacier won second place with 152.5 points and Flathead High was third with 82 points. Fourteen AA teams competed at Billings Senior High.

The Hawkers next will face Kalispell's two strong high school teams as well as the other large, AA Montana teams at the state tournament Jan. 31 in Kalispell.

High points of the Billings competition, Thane said, were Chloe Loeffelholz winning the expository speaking event and the Hawkers winning in all three styles of debate. Ruby Speth and Anna Atwell won in policy debate, while Claire Babcock won in Lincoln-Douglas debate, and Cameron Tate and Zach Hansen won in public forum.

Here are results for Bozeman team members:

  • Policy debate: Ruby Speth and Anna Atwell, first; Devan Murfitt and Sean Swinford, fourth; Natasha Sullivan and Monica Robinson, fifth.
  • Lincoln Douglas: Claire Babcock, first; Seanhenry Vandyke, fourth.
  • Public forum: Cameron Tate and Zach Hansen, first; Anna Kaveney and Natalie Wilkinson, third; Bayley Bowman and Irvin Tran, fourth.
  • Extemporaneous speaking: Peter Crawford-Kahrl, third; Cayley Boyd, fourth.
  • Duo interpretation: Nate Bertagnolli and Camille Landon, seventh.
  • Serious interpretation: Mariclaire Bozarth, second; Jaleh Brown, eighth.
  • Expository speaking: Chloe Loeffelholz, first; Maggie Russell, fourth.